Wilfred Owen, W.I.P update.

Wilfred Owen leaves close-upI have begun to hand stitch the background of my portrait of Wilfred Owen, for a while I was finding it difficult to decide on the ‘look’ of the background imagery and the story it was going to tell. But, slowly, it is coming together and I have been enjoying reading a biography about the poet by Jon Stallworthy – even claimed to be one of the best biographies available by Graham Greene. This has fed my interest and understanding, especially as Wilfred Owen spent much of his life living in Shrewsbury (where I come from), walking and exploring it’s countryside.

I have decided to illustrate some of the places he visited, wrote about and loved, including the Wrekin and the River Severn.

Wilfred Owen river and leavesDifficult to see in this picture at this early stage, but I have included a silhouette of the Wrekin on the left side, along with the fluid shape of the River Severn illustrated in poetry. The Wrekin, I intend to ‘fill’ with fallen Autumn leaves, which are a visual metaphor for the fallen soldiers. It will probably take some time to hand sew these across the whole of the Wrekin silhouette but this will allow me valuable time to then think and decide upon  how I will decorate the area above.

 

 

About obsesivcreativ

I am a freelance textile artist working with and teaching traditional textile techniques including hooky and proggy matting, patchwork and quilting, batik, embroidery, spinning, knitting and crochet. I work with schools, community groups, museums and galleries creating mad and wonderful things such as Egyptian mummies, story-telling tents, rainforest maps and even coffins...
This entry was posted in Hand and machine stitching, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

