Open Studios prep

In two weeks time on the 29th and 30th of November it will be the Ouseburn Open Studios event in Newcastle upon Tyne. My studio is based at the Biscuit Factory and we shall be open to the public both days 10-5pm. It’s a great event, always very busy and great fun. It’s lovely to get feedback on the work you’ve been doing over the year and I also like to make up small gifts which are available for sale – as Christmas is coming soon!!

This afternoon, I’ve had fun and started to make some cushions to sell for the event, using scraps of leather and decorative fabrics. The fabric I chose helped me decide which creatures I wished to decorate the cushions with!

Squirrel and fox cushions

Squirrel and fox cushions

Over the next couple of weeks, I’ll be busy tidying my studio and hopefully getting lots made!

Today, I popped into the picture framers to hand in my Wilfred Owen portrait and saw my portrait of Rupert Brooke framed for the first time! It looks lovely but I’m having to leave it there are the framers are going to paint the frame of Wilfred Owen’s the same as the vintage frame I’d originally bought for Rupert. Still, I can pick them both up in two weeks ready for Open Studios.

Rupert Brooke portrait, framed.

Rupert Brooke portrait, framed.

About obsesivcreativ

I am a freelance textile artist working with and teaching traditional textile techniques including hooky and proggy matting, patchwork and quilting, batik, embroidery, spinning, knitting and crochet. I work with schools, community groups, museums and galleries creating mad and wonderful things such as Egyptian mummies, story-telling tents, rainforest maps and even coffins...
This entry was posted in Hand and machine stitching, Open Studios, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Open Studios prep

  1. rkvcrafts says:

    They are amazing I wish I could do as good as that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

