Broomstick Crochet Snood

Broomstick Crochet Snood

Broomstick Crochet Snood

My niece is doing well for Christmas presents this year, she has been watching my posts recently and has regularly spotted things that she fancies. This piece I have made specially for her after she’d seen a scarf she liked on the internet and asked if I could make her one. I have kept to the grey and yellow theme she liked and the ‘snood’ look, but I have made her scarf using Broomstick Crochet, which is the technique that creates the beautiful twist in the wool. The wool I have used is hand spun Welsh Aran weight, organic wool, un-dyed and the yellow is some Rowen baby weight wool, that was just the right shade.

Close-up of the yellow and grey wool tones.

Close-up of the yellow and grey wool tones.

I feel a ‘How to:’ coming on, as Broomstick Crochet is such a beautiful technique and I often use it in both mohair weights, sock wool is great, Aran weight works well and even the cheapest of wools can look pretty in this technique. In the heavy weight wools it shows off the structure of the design quite architecturally.

Close-up of Broomstick Crochet stitch.

Close-up of Broomstick Crochet stitch.

About obsesivcreativ

I am a freelance textile artist working with and teaching traditional textile techniques including hooky and proggy matting, patchwork and quilting, batik, embroidery, spinning, knitting and crochet. I work with schools, community groups, museums and galleries creating mad and wonderful things such as Egyptian mummies, story-telling tents, rainforest maps and even coffins...
This entry was posted in How to:, Knitting and crochet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

