All We Are Saying: Be Part of the Blanket of Peace Project

I am so excited that Kit Dunsmore has decided to help us create our ‘Blanket for Peace’ by making a square, as part of the ‘All We Are Saying’ exhibition at the Holy Biscuit.

Kit Dunsmore's Blog

peaceLennon

Maybe I’m turning into a hippy as I age, but right on the heels of participating in 1000 Voices Speak for Compassion, I’ve found a group project to promote peace that I’ve decided to participate in. “All We Are Saying” is a British-based art project being organized by artist Barrie West. Collaborators are encouraged to make a block for the blanket using any textile form they like that promotes peace without focusing on political, religious, or nationalistic ideologies.

Since anything goes in terms of how you make the block — embroidered, beaded, quilted, hand-painted, knitted, or crocheted are all good — I’m not sure yet what exactly I am going to make for this project. I want it to have meaning for me with the hopes that, if it is something heartfelt, it will have meaning for others.

The deadline is September, so I can spend a little time…

View original post 64 more words

About obsesivcreativ

I am a freelance textile artist working with and teaching traditional textile techniques including hooky and proggy matting, patchwork and quilting, batik, embroidery, spinning, knitting and crochet. I work with schools, community groups, museums and galleries creating mad and wonderful things such as Egyptian mummies, story-telling tents, rainforest maps and even coffins...
This entry was posted in All We Are Saying, Commissions, Exhibitions, Hand and machine stitching, Patchwork and Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

